Gator tennis players honored for success in the classroom by the ITA

Gator tennis players honored for success in the classroom by the ITA

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2017 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes on Tuesday. In all, 720 teams and 3,908 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis were honored.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Honored as a Division III Women's Scholar-Athlete team member were senior Alex Faas (Rensselaer, NY/Columbia), as well as juniors Samantha Dibbell (Hunter, NY/Tannersville Central), Lindsey Tolman (Little Falls, NY/Little Falls), Shanessa Mendoza (North Plainfield, NJ/North Plainfield), and freshman Rebecca Jackson (Saugerties, NY/John A. Coleman). The selection was a repeat for Dibbell, who was honored for her efforts as well in 2015-2016.

Honored as members of Sage’s men’s tennis team was junior Casey Fitzpatrick (Haverhill, MA/Haverhill) as well as members of the women’s team that helped fill out the Gators’ roster in 2017, Tolman, Dibbell, Mendoza and Jackson.

Wyck Takes 20th at GMC Race
October 14, 2017 Wyck Takes 20th at GMC Race
Sage offense halted by Raptors
September 6, 2017 Sage offense halted by Raptors