Sage's Ann King named 2018 CoSIDA Mary Jo Haverbeck Trailblazer Award recipient

Sage's Ann King named 2018 CoSIDA Mary Jo Haverbeck Trailblazer Award recipient

These three CoSIDA members will be honored during the 2018 CoSIDA Convention in National Harbor, Maryland.

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) continues its weeklong announcement of its 2018 Special Awards Thursday by recognizing three more outstanding members for distinguished contributions to the profession.

Ann King, the director of athletic communications at The Sage Colleges, will receive the Mary Jo Haverbeck Trailblazer Award which honors a pioneer in the field of sports information who has mentored and helped improve the level of ethnic and gender diversity within CoSIDA.

The Bob Kenworthy Community Service Award, presented annually to a member for civic involvement, community service and accomplishments outside of the sports information office, will go to Christopher Wenzler, the Assistant Athletics Director for Communications/sports information director at John Carroll University.

The Lester Jordan Award is presented for exemplary service to the Academic All-America® Program and the promotion of the ideals of being a student-athlete. Susan Fumagalli Mahoney, the associate athletic director at Gettysburg College and long-time member of CoSIDA's Academic All-America® Committee, will accept the 2018 award.

All 2018 Special Award winners will be honored at CoSIDA's annual convention which takes place June 27-30 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland.

Ann King (Mary Jo Haverbeck Trailblazer Award): A DIII Leader 

King is currently in her 32nd year as a sports information director, and in her ninth year at The Sage Colleges. She also served more than 17 years as SID at The College of New Jersey and six years as SID at her alma mater, Drew University.

King was named to the NCAA's Division III-CoSIDA Strategic Communications Committee in the spring of 2012 and was elected as the group's chair that year. King also served as a member of the NCAA Media Coordination Advisory Board from 2012-15. She is a member of the NCAA Division III CoSIDA Student Program, serving as a mentor to a rising college senior looking to pursue a career in intercollegiate athletics.

A participant on the Division III CoSIDA Strategic Committee where she served as the group's chair, King also assisted with the production of the NCAA Division III Guide to Strategic Athletic Communications on Campus in 2012.

King also has committed to long-time CoSIDA service. Serving a term on CoSIDA's board of directors from 1999-2002, she currently is a member of the Special Awards committee. She has also served on CoSIDA's College Division Management Council (CDMAC) and is currently the first vice president of D3SIDA. King is also on the steering committee of WoSIDA, CoSIDA's subgroup which advocates for females in the profession and contributes to the professional development sessions at the annual national convention. King has been honored by CoSIDA with the 2003 Warren Berg Award, the college division honor for distinguished service and work. She was the first female to receive the prestigious Berg honor. In 2006 she was inducted into the CoSIDA Hall of Fame. She also served on the board of directors of ECAC-SIDA, serving as the group's president in 2003-04 and received the organization's Irving T. Marsh Award in 2007.


Gators fall to Elms, 3-2
January 31, 2018 Gators fall to Elms, 3-2
Orminski honored by Empire 8
November 7, 2017 Orminski honored by Empire 8
Sage splits on Senior Day
October 21, 2017 Sage splits on Senior Day
Sage falls to SUNY-IT, 3-1
October 18, 2017 Sage falls to SUNY-IT, 3-1
Wick Takes 20th at GMC Race
October 14, 2017 Wick Takes 20th at GMC Race
Sage offense halted by Raptors
September 6, 2017 Sage offense halted by Raptors